

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES REGISTRAR-RECORDER/COUNTY CLERK

12400 IMPERIAL HWY. - P.O. BOX 1024, NORWALK, CALIFORNIA 90651-1024

CONNY B. McCORMACK Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk

July 21, 2005

- TO: EACH SUPERVISOR
- FROM: Conny B. McCormack, Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES AWARD WINNER VIP POLL WORKER PROGRAM

I am pleased to announce that the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk is the recipient of the 2005 Achievement Award from the National Association of Counties (NACo) for our innovative approach to poll worker recruitment strategies, specifically acknowledged is our VIP poll worker program.

This prestigious achievement award is presented to those entrants who "demonstrate the willingness to tackle tough problems, find realistic solutions and try to do more with less" (Larry Naake, NACo Executive Director).

VIP poll workers (see attached list and photo display) include County Board of Supervisors and key staff and Department Heads. Many of our County's VIP volunteers are now veteran poll workers, with this election marking their fourth or fifth time serving the community. They postponed meetings and rearranged already hectic schedules in order to serve the voters of Los Angeles County for over 13 hours on Election Day.

These impressive County leaders inspire all County employees with their volunteer spirit and truly embody excellence in public service. Record numbers of County employees (4,118) including forty-five VIP poll workers, signed on to serve voters during the 2004 Presidential Election.

VIP Poll Workers

Providing Excellence in Public Service

Supervisor Gloria Molina Leida Erickson - Deputy, Supervisor Antonovich Charles Adams - Administrative Deputy, Public Works Gwen Andrizzi - Executive Assistant to CAO David Janssen Robert Atkins - Chief Deputy, Ag. Comm/Wts. & Measures Margaret Donnellan - Director, Public Library Michael Henry - Director, Human Resources Russel Guiney - Chief Deputy, Public Library Robin Guerrero - Deputy, Executive Officer - BOS David Janssen - Chief Administrative Officer Michael Judge - Director, Public Defender Susan Kerr - Chief Deputy, Mental Health David Lambertson - Director, Internal Services Theresa Maguire - Chief Deputy, Public Library Marcia Mayeda - Director, Animal Care & Control Judith Meraz - Chief Deputy, Animal Care & Control Maria Oms - Assistant, Auditor-Controller Marsha Richter - Director, LACERA Mark Saladino - Director, Treasurer & Tax Collector Jonathan Sanabria - Chief Deputy, Regional Planning Susan Stern - Chief Deputy, Human Resources Dennis Tafoya - Director, Affirmative Action Compliance Violet Varona-Lukens - Executive Officer, Board of Supervisors Donald Wolfe - Chief Deputy, Public Works Bryce Yokomizo - Director, Public Social Services





National Association of Counties 2005 Achievement Award Winner

This Award is presented to

Los Angeles County, CA

for its program

V.I.P. Pollworkers

in recognition of an innovative program which contributes to and enhances county government in the United States.

Angelo Kyle President

AM SMalle

Larry Naake Executive Director



Counties Care for America